"You can find magic wherever you look. Sit back and relax. All you need is a book." -Dr. Seuss

Tuesday, September 23rd - 12PM - Meet an Author for Lunch - Randy Susan Meyers - Accidents of Marriage

Randy Susan Meyers will provide food for thought as she discusses her new book Accidents of Marriage during our Meet An Author For Lunch program at The Hickory Stick Bookshop on Tuesday, September 23rd at 12PM.

This luncheon is free with the purchase of Accidents of Marriage. For those not purchasing the book, the cost of the luncheon is only $10.00. A book signing will follow the discussion. Read more...

 

 

 

Thursday, September 25th - 5:30pm - The Hickory Stick Young Adult Book Club Discusses Every Day by David Levithan

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl. There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.Our book club is open to all and no registration is required, so please feel free to read the book and join in on the discussion! We are suggesting a minimum age of 14-years-old.Questions? Please call 860-868-0525. Read more...

 

 

 

Friday, September 26th - 7pm - Banned Books Read-Out-Loud Night

To celebrate our "freadom", we're hosting a Community Read-Out-Loud night! Join us for refreshments and readings as local authors, artists, teachers, and community members share passages from their favorite banned or challenged books! Want to participate? Call 860-868-0525 or visit us at the store for more information! Read more...

 

 

 

 

Good GriefWednesday, October 8th - 12PM - Meet an Author for Lunch - Ellen Stimson - Good Grief

Ellen Stimson, author of Mud Season, will provide food for thought as she discusses her new book Good Grief during our Meet An Author For Lunch program at The Hickory Stick Bookshop on Wednesday, October 8th from 12:00 to 1:30pm.

This luncheon is free with the purchase of Good Grief. For those not purchasing the book, the cost of the luncheon is only $10.00. A book signing will follow the discussion. Read more...

 

 


Friday, October 10th - 6:30PM - Author Signing with Andy Thibault - More Cool Justice

Join us at 6:30 for an evening of music followed by a reading, discussion, and booksigning with Andy Thibault author of More Cool Justice, a second collection of hard-hitting essays credited with helping to free a woman unjustly convicted of first degree murder. And more music! Read more...

 

 

Saturday, October 11th - 2PM - Author Signing with Sandra Waugh - Lark Rising

Sandra Waugh will be at The Hickory Stick to sign copies of her new book, Lark Rising, on Saturday, October 11th at 2pm. Lark has foreseen two things--she will fall for a young man with sage green eyes, and he will kill her. Full of romance and nature magic, this debut fantasy is perfect for fans of Shannon Hale, Juliet Marillier, and Kristin Cashore. Read more...

 

 

 

New Releases

The Edge of Eternity This Changes Everything The Paying Guests The Underground Girls of Kabul Stone Mattress

My Grandfather's Gallery

 

New In Paperback

 
The Men Who United the States The Way Inn Mastering the Art of Soviet Cooking The Target Still Foolin' 'Em The Way Life Should Be

 

Video of the Week:

Book Trailer: Cosby

 

 

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Kids Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Reading Group Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Shelf Awareness for Readers